Skip to content

Sunday Morning Muse: Prayer-Poems

September 12, 2010

Most poets and lyricists understand that the most inspirational and beautiful material often visits us from a place well beyond our intellectual minds. When we’re elevated into a particularly spiritual or emotional state, we’re more receptive to these unforgettable lines of verse — or entire poems, songs or stories.

Below are four pieces that seem appropriate for a Sunday morning. Three are prayer-poems, written the moment they swept through me. The other is a song, “Gypsy’s Prayer,” which I wrote in the voice of Christine Timoreaux, the female singer-protagonist of my forthcoming novel, The Voice. It previously appeared in my collection, Coyotes in Broad Daylight. “Morning Prayer” was written last weekend, while I was driving through the Capitol Reef region of Utah during sunrise. “An Eastern Star” was written a long time ago, on Christmas Day 1985. And “Offering: Temple of the Sun” was written on sacred Incan ground in Peru in 1999. It was previously published in my 2008 collection, The River-Fed Stone.

Enjoy.

MORNING PRAYER

Red mesa vaults high

above ancient ocean reef,

a mesa on which

the most fervent prayer

would make its request

before the rising sun

as sacred flute notes

rode the exhaling night

within the glorious songs

of two birds, soaring.

GYPSY’S PRAYER

(Written in the voice of Christine Timoreaux,

female protagonist of my novel, The Voice)

My latest love kissed me goodbye,

Said he had to go back home,

I packed my clothes, kids & some bread

And set sail on the open road.

I joined a caravan, a minstrel’s caravan,

Just lookin’ for that piece of my heart,

He said you become wise

To the music of the eyes

I told him, I’m not sure where to go,

I’ll just stay out in the fields,

I’ll sing a lover’s tale

My heart is not for sale…

I’ll offer a little prayer,

My little gypsy’s prayer

I wear it as I wear my rings,

My prayer is simply this

That we all find bliss

In the life we create

It’s what this world sure needs,

A little tenderness

Found in a prayer and a kiss,

So when you pass me by

Just remember that

My love is soaring high…

High….High….High….

Higher & Higher my heart flies,

Above the rainbow skies of love,

The fire in my eyes

Becomes longing &  gives rise

To the deep space of your heart,

So climb with me

Oh won’t you climb with me

Right out of your skin,

So climb with me

Why don’t you climb with me

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer,

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer.

We found a place to camp

Beneath a stand of trees

Fire, food—enough for me.

I gathered all the kids

Around the firelight

We sang songs through the night

We sang songs of the land,

We sang songs of the sea

We sang songs of the heart,

And then we said a prayer,

My little gypsy’s prayer

My prayer is simply this,

That we all find bliss

In the love we create

The love that we create

Create…Create…Create….

My heart swirls in creation’s fire

Above rainbow skies of love,

The fire in my eyes

Becomes longing &  gives rise

To the deep space of your heart,

So climb with me

Oh won’t you climb with me

Right out of your skin,

So climb with me

Why don’t you climb with me

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer,

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer.

So climb with me

Oh won’t you climb with me

Right out of your skin,

So climb with me

Why don’t you climb with me

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer,

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer.

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer.

Your love is my gypsy’s prayer.

Gypsy’s time—the universal mind

Understanding all from the start

Gypsy’s rhyme—the all-eternal heart

The way of love, you will find

Gypsy, oh dear gypsy,

Your love is my prayer

Gypsy, magical gypsy

Your love is my prayer,

Your love is my prayer

Your love is my prayer……

EASTERN STAR

I beheld an Eastern Star

sitting atop a tree

that grew from the seeds

of a thousand quests,

seeking everlasting sunshine.

I beheld the Eastern Star

plumed around me,

and absorbed into its bosom.

I swayed in the gentle rhythms

of the arms

that cradle all creation,

that call us back home.

I beheld this Eastern Star

hovering above a desert plain.

I marveled in its message

while sacred music played

through the deepest channel

of my heart.

I looked into the Eastern Star

and saw a pair of eyes

without beginning,

without end.

I packed my bags,

and began the Journey.

OFFERING: TEMPLE OF THE SUN

I offer my heart

To the spirit of the work.

I offer my eyes

To give sight to your vision.

I offer my tongue

To speak your words to others

That they may live in light

That we all live in light

That we all vibrate in light

That we all become the light

To serve light

To love light

To touch light

To touch hearts

To bring home light

To bring light home

Light, our home

To merge

Into divine light

Into divine love

Into sacred union

Into Spirit

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

